Board of Directors

2022-2023 Officers and Executive Board Members

Jean Kenefick
Community Representative

Lynn Hardison
Community Representative

At Large
Zac Everhart
Community Representative

Vice President
Suzanne Gifford
One Place, Chief Program Officer

Don Brinkley
Union Bank, Foundation Representative



2022-2023 Board of Directors

Jennifer Blackmon
County Government

Linder Ervin
Services Representative

Chief Patrick Gallagher
New Bern Police Department

Lisa Kemp
Craven County Schools

Beatrice R. Smith
Craven County Commissioner














Angelia Crawley
Services Representative

LaTicia Garfield
Services Representative

Pat Ipock
Community Representative


Geoffrey Marett
Craven Co. Dept. of Social Services







  • Craven Smart Start, Inc. is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that administers Smart Start funds and programs in Craven County. Smart Start is designed to ensure that young children enter school healthy and ready to succeed. Donations are tax deductible. Financial information about this organization and copy of its license are available from the State Solicitation Licensing Branch at 919-807-2214. The license is not an endorsement by the State.